Remembrance: The FBI enters the scene …

Thirty-five years ago today, at the Gendarmerie in Papeete, Tahiti, the FBI interviewed my brother for several hours about the suspicious deaths of our parents. At one point they took a break, and one of the agents—I dubbed him Steely Eyes—met with me outside of the compound, where we stood in the shade of a large tree.

“A half-dozen French and American doctors have examined the X-rays of your sister’s wound,” the agent said. “They all came to the same conclusion: Your sister did not have an accident.”

Numbed by his words, I stared into the distance.

He continued. “The fracture was caused by a forcible blow with a blunt instrument. A gun butt, maybe a wrench.”

A lump filled my throat and I struggled to breathe.

I recount the entire scene and what followed in my forthcoming memoir, scheduled for release this spring.

To learn more and get on the mailing list, visit: Dare I Call It Murder?—A Memoir of Violent Loss.

About Polishing Your Prose

Larry M Edwards is an award-winning investigative journalist, author, editor and publishing consultant. He is the author of three books, and has edited dozens of nonfiction and fiction book manuscripts. Under Wigeon Publishing, he has produced six books. As author, "Dare I Call It Murder? A Memoir of Violent Loss" won First Place in the San Diego Book Awards in 2012 (unpublished memoir) and 2014, Best Published Memoir. The book has also been nominated for a number of awards, including: Pulitzer Prize, Benjamin Franklin Award, Washington State Book Award, and One Book, One San Diego. As Editor, "Murder Survivor’s Handbook: Real-Life Stories, Tips & Resources" won the Gold Award in the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Book Awards, Self-Help. For a sample edit and cost estimate, contact Larry: larry [at] larryedwards [dot] com -- www.larryedwards.com -- www.dareicallitmurder.com -- www.wigeonpublishing.com
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembrance: The FBI enters the scene …

  1. Elyane says:

    Hi Larry! Just waiting for your book to come out.
    I am French, live now in Sonoita, Arizona, But in the 70’s took a trip to beautiful Tahiti/Moorea. Read Ann Rule book about this tragedy that happened there. It touched my heart. I learned later on that a French friend of mine had moored his sailboat in Papeete at the time the Spellbound moored there. Did not say much… just that the people on the boat were kind of “glauques”, which means “opaque, shabby”, So, I read even more about this sad story, and tried to understand. … what happened there, in theSouth Seas. Hard to imagine. I can’t wait to read your book!
    Going to France for the whole month of May, I will be back early June….
    Hope your book is out by then. Good luck! Best wishes, hope the truth is on its way! So long Larry!
    Elyane Gasteuil Rocheford

Leave a Reply

