Book Update; Thoughts on PTSD and the Boston Marathon Bombing

Thank you for your inquiries and continued interest in my forthcoming book, Dare I Call It Murder? — A Memoir of Violent Loss. Words alone cannot convey how much that means to me.

I apologize for the long period of silence. I kept thinking I’d have good news to share.

In my last update, I said publication of the book had been delayed, “with any luck, no more than two weeks.” It’s now been two months.

Yeah, yeah, I know. Promises, promises . . . I kept getting my hopes up, only to have them dashed.

I cannot go into details, other than to say it involves legal issues and a mammoth, bloodsucking bureaucracy. (No, it’s not a conspiracy involving the “guv’ment.” Well, maybe it is, in a fashion. One day I will divulge all the details.) I’m now hoping for late May or early June.

I will continue posting periodic comments about the book and violent loss on this book blog.

And I will post another book excerpt later this week to the books’s website.

Meanwhile, my heart goes out to all of those whose lives were shattered by the Boston Marathon bombing. Thankfully, the perpetrators were quickly identified and stopped (no thanks to Rupert Murdoch and the alleged journalists at the New York Post).

Yet, I am comforted by the “dark gift” that has emerged in the aftermath of this horrific incident. I see an unprecedented concern not only for the physical health of the survivors, the first responders, and their families, but for their mental health as well.

One of the hospitalized survivors, when asked by a doctor how she was doing, reportedly said her body was doing fine. But she complained of not doing so well “up here.” And she pointed to her head.

Intentional violence and death cause terror and emotional trauma, especially in children. If the impact of that trauma is not addressed, it can manifest itself in post-traumatic stress disorder. PTSD, when ignored or left unattended, can have far-reaching and long-lasting effects on the individual that ripple outward to affect family, friends, classmates, co-workers, and society as a whole.

I am pleased that this important issue—once dismissed as mere “battle fatigue”—has been recognized and is getting the attention it deserves, not only from the mental health community, but society at large.

About Polishing Your Prose

Larry M Edwards is an award-winning investigative journalist, author, editor and publishing consultant. He is the author of three books, and has edited dozens of nonfiction and fiction book manuscripts. Under Wigeon Publishing, he has produced six books. As author, "Dare I Call It Murder? A Memoir of Violent Loss" won First Place in the San Diego Book Awards in 2012 (unpublished memoir) and 2014, Best Published Memoir. The book has also been nominated for a number of awards, including: Pulitzer Prize, Benjamin Franklin Award, Washington State Book Award, and One Book, One San Diego. As Editor, "Murder Survivor’s Handbook: Real-Life Stories, Tips & Resources" won the Gold Award in the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Book Awards, Self-Help. For a sample edit and cost estimate, contact Larry: larry [at] larryedwards [dot] com -- www.larryedwards.com -- www.dareicallitmurder.com -- www.wigeonpublishing.com
This entry was posted in My Book and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Update; Thoughts on PTSD and the Boston Marathon Bombing

  1. Penelope J. says:

    Larry, It must be very frustrating to have to delay your publication date thanks to the slow response from outside entities. Isn’t that the case wherever bureaucracy is involved?
    About PTSD as related to the Boston Marathon victims, I wonder how runners who lost limbs will react when they realize those were the last miles they ran in their lives. How will they manage? I’ve seen people who after a traumatic event can’t cope while others take it as a challenge to overcome and get on with their lives. PTSD is a relevant subject that needs to be discussed more, and I’m glad you brought it up.

Leave a Reply

