Book Launch Day: Bittersweet Moment

People ask me, “Aren’t you thrilled that your book is finally coming out?”

Dare I Call It Murder? - A Memoir of Violent LossYes. But it’s also a bittersweet moment. I wish I did not have to write this book. I’d rather my parents’—Loren and Jody Edwards—were alive and living to a ripe old age along with their surviving family members and friends.

However, I cannot change what happened. All I can do is pay them tribute and, hopefully, shed some light on how and why they died by disclosing information from that has never been made public before. This includes not only my personal experience of being involved in the investigation into their deaths in French Polynesia and Seattle, but revealing details from the FBI’s official report that will correct the many errors in previously published accounts.

A friend, in congratulating me, started to say it’s been a real “labor of—” then stopped and said, “I guess I can’t really say ‘love.’”

“No,” I replied. “More like a labor of lament.”

But it’s far more than that. While there have been many dark moments, ultimately it led me to seeking professional counseling for PTSD and the ability to live a fuller life and develop a closer relationship with my wife, “Saint” Janis, who has never wavered in her support for me.

As I have said repeatedly, this book recounts my journey. A journey I wouldn’t wish on anyone. But if my telling this story proves helpful to others, then it takes on greater meaning. It expands the value of the work and lifts it to a higher plane. And I believe my parents’ would support that wholeheartedly. Both volunteered with charitable organizations and understood to value of contributing to the community at large.

To that end, my intent is that this book serves a broader purpose than simply laying out the untold story of my parents’ deaths and refuting the errors in previously published material. I want to see this book generate greater awareness of and conversations about the trauma of violent loss, its impact on the survivors and their families, and the need to address post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that routinely occurs in the wake of violent death.

To those who read my book, I offer a heartfelt thank you. A portion of the proceeds from the sale of the book will go to Survivors of Violent Loss or similar organizations that provide professional counseling in traumatic grief, complicated bereavement and PTSD.

May you all find sparks of joy.

Now, let’s savor the moment, have a little merriment, and give away some prizes.

You can follow things here or at the book’s Facebook page.

And if haven’t checked out the mass of information about the book, or excerpts, or where to get the book, follow these links:

Dare I Call It Murder?: A Memoir of Violent Loss

News:

Book Excerpts (scroll down)

Where to Buy the book

Media Center

About Polishing Your Prose

Larry M Edwards is an award-winning investigative journalist, author, editor and publishing consultant. He is the author of three books, and has edited dozens of nonfiction and fiction book manuscripts. Under Wigeon Publishing, he has produced six books. As author, "Dare I Call It Murder? A Memoir of Violent Loss" won First Place in the San Diego Book Awards in 2012 (unpublished memoir) and 2014, Best Published Memoir. The book has also been nominated for a number of awards, including: Pulitzer Prize, Benjamin Franklin Award, Washington State Book Award, and One Book, One San Diego. As Editor, "Murder Survivor’s Handbook: Real-Life Stories, Tips & Resources" won the Gold Award in the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Book Awards, Self-Help. For a sample edit and cost estimate, contact Larry: larry [at] larryedwards [dot] com -- www.larryedwards.com -- www.dareicallitmurder.com -- www.wigeonpublishing.com
This entry was posted in My Book, Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

