Renowned San Diego Attorney Releases Sphynx Sequel

One of my latest projects as an editor and publishing consultant . . .

Donald E. McInnis, defense attorney in the Stephanie Crowe murder investigation, has moved from true crime to legal thrillers

In Return of the Sphynx: An A. J. Hawke Legal Thriller, San Diego’s district attorney proclaims the police have the notorious Sphynx rapist in custody and they have the DNA to prove it.

Upstart attorney A. J. Hawke takes on the seemingly unwinnable case, claiming the man in jail is the true rapists identical twin and he will rely on a rare genetic trait to represent his client in court.

Meanwhile, San Diego’s Presiding Judge tries to manipulate Hawkes personal and professional life in an effort to discourage the young attorney from uncovering corruption at city hall.

Editors Pick” by Publisher’s Weekly Booklife Reviews: “Nail-biting legal thriller. . . . A scrappy lawyer must use sophisticated science, and his fists, to aid a client. . . . Great for fans of Scott Turow, Phillip Margolin.

Return of the Sphynx is the sequel to The Sphynx Murder Case, released in March 2022. The third book in the series is set for release in 2023.

“I enjoy writing fiction because I can offer my readers an accurate portrayal of the justice system and the realities of the courtroom that they rarely see on television or in movies, while drawing from actual court cases,” Donald McInnis says. “In the first two books of the A. J. Hawke series, I show how confessions can be coerced and DNA evidence is not always black-and-white.”

The author’s true-crime book She’s So Cold: The Stephanie Crowe Murder Investigation — A Defense Attorneys Inside Story (second edition) — was released in February 2021 and featured in The San Diego Union-Tribune.

Return of the Sphynx Details

  • Release Date: Sept. 26, 2022 ~ publisher: J&E Publications
  • Trade paperback ISBN-13: 979-8-9865516-0-9; distributor: Amazon
  • Kindle ebook ISBN 13: 979-8-9865516-1-6; distributor: Amazon
  • Epub ebook ISBN: 979-8-9865516-2-3; distributor: Smashwords
    • Legal Thriller
    • Courtroom Drama

The ebook version of Return of the Sphynx is available for pre-order online at Amazon and Smashwords.

About the Author
Donald E. McInnis is a California criminal defense attorney and the author of three books as well as three law review publications pertaining to juvenile law and childrens legal rights. He has served as a Deputy District Attorney, Deputy Public Defender, and Superior Court Judge Pro Tem. Mr. McInnis lives in San Diego, California, and presses for reforms within the criminal justice system.

Editor: award-winning investigative journalist, author, editor, and publishing consultant Larry M. Edwards.

CONTACT
www.DonaldMcInnis.com

About Polishing Your Prose

Larry M Edwards is an award-winning investigative journalist, author, editor and publishing consultant. He is the author of three books, and has edited dozens of nonfiction and fiction book manuscripts. Under Wigeon Publishing, he has produced six books. As author, "Dare I Call It Murder? A Memoir of Violent Loss" won First Place in the San Diego Book Awards in 2012 (unpublished memoir) and 2014, Best Published Memoir. The book has also been nominated for a number of awards, including: Pulitzer Prize, Benjamin Franklin Award, Washington State Book Award, and One Book, One San Diego. As Editor, "Murder Survivor’s Handbook: Real-Life Stories, Tips & Resources" won the Gold Award in the 2015 Benjamin Franklin Book Awards, Self-Help. For a sample edit and cost estimate, contact Larry: larry [at] larryedwards [dot] com -- www.larryedwards.com -- www.dareicallitmurder.com -- www.larryedwards.com/wigeonpublishing/
This entry was posted in books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s